Bonnyville Sr Pontiacs Join North Central Hockey League

It has been announced that The Battle River Hockey league (BRHL) will be no more. Four of the former BRHL teams – the Big Valley Oil Kings, Bonnyville Sr. Pontiacs, Daysland Northstars and Tofield Satellites – will become part of the new 12-team North Central Hockey League (NCHL), with the fifth team, the Lloydminster Border Kings, deciding to fold.

The Sr. Pontiacs won the final BRHL Championship this past 2014-15 season and went onto provincials where they claimed provincial bronze. Many of the teams they met in provincials will make up the new league.

For the upcoming season, The Sr Pontiacs will play a 16-game regular season, with their opening weekend taking place October 24, against Big Valley and the following evening, the 25th against Slave Lake.

There will be opportunity for more players to join the Sr Pontiacs, the NCHL League rules  allow teams to have 35 players on their roster, opposed to the 25-man rosters that were allowed in the BRHL.

The former BRHL will be split into two divisions, The North and The South. Bonnyville and Tofield will be joining the North Division, which includes the Morinville Kings, Westlock Warriors, Whitecourt Wild and Slave Lake Winterhawks.

In the South Division, Daysland and Big Valley will be grouped up with the Devon Barons, Edson Ice, Rocky Mountain House Rams and Drayton Valley Wildcats.


Leave a Reply