Laura Akana Nominated for Edwin Parr by NLSD

The Northern  Lights  School  Division  Board  of    Trustees    has    selected    Laura    Akana    as    its    nominee    for    the    Alberta    School    Boards’    Association    2016    Edwin    Parr    Teacher    Award.

Akana  teaches    Grade    9    math    and    science    as    well    as    Art    10,    20    and    30    at    J.A.    Williams    High    School    in    Lac    La    Biche.

“Ms.  Akana    has    immediately    established    herself    as    a    professional    of    great    integrity    and    dedication    to    students,”    said    JAWS    Principal    Conal    Donovan.    “She    has    enthusiastically    embraced    the    culture    of    collaborative    learning   that    we    value    at    JAWS.    From    lunchtime    math    and    science    tutorials    to    helping    students    discover    their    artistic   side,  she    has    proven    that    she    promotes    student    success    in    all    its    forms.        We    are    excited    and    proud    that    she    is   being  honoured    with    this    nomination;    it    is    well    deserved.”

Akana  noted    that    NLSD’s    mentorship    program    for    first-­‐year    teachers    has    helped    her    transition    into    her    new    role   by  connecting    her    with    other    teachers    in    the    school.

“Knowledge  is    a    powerful    tool,    that    can    only    be    achieved    through    education.    I    am    grateful    to    have    the    opportunity    to    educate    so    many    amazing    students    and    be    a    positive    role    model    in    their    lives,”    she    said.    “As    a    new    teacher,    I    feel    privileged    to    be    working    within    the    Northern    Lights    School    Division,    a    division    that    truly    equips    all    of    its    students,    and    staff,    to    succeed.    It    is    such    a    tremendous    honour    to    be    nominated    for    this    award.”

The  Edwin    Parr    Teacher    Award    recognizes    outstanding    first    year    teachers.    Each    school    board    in    Alberta    nominates    one    teacher    for    the    award.    Each    ASBA    zone    then    chooses    a    winner.    Zone    2/3    will    honour    Akana    and    its    other    Edwin    Parr    nominees    at    a    banquet    on    May    22.    All    zone    winners    will    be    honoured    at    the    ASBA’s    Fall    General    Meeting    in    November.

*Press Release from Northern Lights School Division

latest video

news via inbox

Get Connected! Sign up for daily news updates.