John Walters – Second Consecutive Day Money On Night 3 In Bonnyville

Photo By Carol Easton

It was another hot and dry night in the Lakeland as night 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship was run on Saturday night. It was standing room only in Bonnyville and the Bonnyville chuckwagon fans were not disappointed. When the dust settled, and for the second consecutive night, John Walters won the day money after a penalty free run of 1:20.21.

From barrel position number 4 in the seventh heat, Walters, driving the Warco Industrial Cooling Services Ltd. outfit, won his second consecutive day money, 94 one-hundredths of a second faster than world points leader Kurt Bensmiller who ran second on the night. Chanse Vigen placed third, Dustin Gorst was fourth, and Rick Fraser rounded out the top five on the night.

The day money run has increased John Walters lead in the overall aggregate standings with a three-run total of 4:02.02. That puts him a whopping 3.63 seconds ahead of Vern Nolin, with Kelly Sutherland, Chanse Vigen and Kirk Sutherland making out the top five overall after three runs. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2017 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and will receive the George Normand Memorial Buckle.

The Finals of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship will be taped delayed on Sunday, July 30, 2017 starting right after the broadcast of the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, with the feed also being played on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville at approximately 5:00pm ET, 4:00pm CT and 3:00pm MT.

 

Billy Melville