Osum Leaders of Tomorrow Recipients Recognized

On June 27, Osum Oil Sands Corporation held a formal event for the Leaders of Tomorrow Award. The night was meant to bring together family, friends, nominators, and nominees. Snacks and refreshments were provided by Beantrees Cafe in Cold Lake, where the event was hosted.


The following quotes are from the Osum Leaders Of Tomorrow website.

  • Bailey May Hobbs
    “Currently the President of the Ardmore 4H Beef Club, Bailey May has been involved in the club for the last nine years. She gives freely of her time to the 4H Club – and her compassion, positivity and selflessness makes her an excellent role model to younger members. Bailey is currently pursuing her apprenticeship as a Heavy Duty Technician.”
    Bailey May is graduating from Bonnyville Centralized High School. She was nominated by Lynda Robb.
  • Jennifer Davies
    “During her time at CLHS, Jennifer played a fundamental role within the High School Leadership Group and was a founding member of the school’s GSA. She did so with a quiet presence that has been described as determined, resilient and inspiring. Also a talented actress, Jennifer plans to study drama at the University of Alberta, Augustana campus.”Jennifer is graduating from Cold Lake High School. She was nominated byDana Schwab.
  • Cindy Liang
    “As an international student with English as her second language, Cindy’s hard work and ability to persevere is an inspiration to others. Described as a “behind the scenes” leader, Cindy volunteered with numerous school and community initiatives – all while exceling academically. Cindy plans to study engineering at the University of Alberta.”Cindy is graduating from Assumption Jr/Sr High School. She was nominated by Lynne Vining, Leanne Draper, Meghan Rennie, Catheryne Sicard and Mitch MacKinnon.
  • Devon Reekie
    “An all-around great student and athlete, Devon’s natural gift as a leader emerged in his efforts to improve the quality of life of those around him. Devon was a dedicated volunteer with Cold Lake High School’s Best Buddies program. He was an excellent role model for his buddies and those around him – emanating empathy, inclusiveness and positivity. Devon plans to study biology at the University of Alberta.”Devon is graduating from Cold Lake High School. He was nominated by Nancy MacKichan and Jennifer Dusyk-Johnson.
  • Logan Lukinuk
    “Kind. Thoughtful. Positive. Those were just three words used to describe Logan. Always the first to volunteer without being asked, he helped with countless initiatives including the Breakfast for Learning and BCHS Santa’s Elves programs, as well as Thinkwerx’ community initiatives (where he is also an employee). Logan plans to study business at Grant MacEwan University.”Logan is graduating from Bonnyville Centralized High School. He was nominated by Kelsey Brennan and Debbie Dallaire.
  • Malorie Lafond
    “Whether it’s inside or outside the walls of Ecole Notre Dame High School, Malorie is a leader. As Chair of the Justice League, Malorie initiated the Community Garden Project – and through her involvement with the Environmental Science Club, she helped the club reach new levels of success. Malorie will be attending Grant MacEwan University in the fall to pursue a career in Design Studies.”Malorie is graduating from Ecole Notre Dame High School. She was nominated by Peter Godin.

Leaders of Tomorrow history

“The Osum Leaders of Tomorrow awards started six years ago. It acknowledges students that are doing good things in their community, whether it’s creating a positive experience for their peers, or volunteering and giving back. Also, doing good because it’s the right thing to do. There’s the events at the school, but we wanted to treat these kids like the rock stars like they are. We also wanted to recognize the people who nominated them.” Christi Clouter, Communications Advisor with Osum Oil Sands, says.

The Osum Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship awards $1000 to each student who wins. The students were presented with the monetary side of their award at their respective school’s academic awards.