New board chair appointed to Portage College

Lac La Biche lawyer Randolph Benson is the new board chair of Portage College.

After an extensive and open recruitment competition, Randolph Benson is the successful candidate for board chair and will serve for a term of three years. Benson also served on the Portage College Board of Governors as a public member in 2004 and as board chair from 2008 to 2011. He lives in Lac La Biche and has federal and provincial legal experience.

“Portage College has a strong history of excellent leadership and the appointment of Mr. Benson as the new chair will continue that momentum. His experience with the college and within the Lac La Biche community will provide the necessary oversight to help the college grow and meet the needs of Alberta’s students. Thank you to past chair Ray Danyluk and acting chair Roy Ripkens for their dedication and service to Portage College.”

Marlin Schmidt, Minister of Advanced Education

“Mr. Benson brings a wealth of local knowledge and governance experience to the Portage College Board. I had the privilege of working with Randy as board member and as chair, and I look forward to once again benefiting from his guidance and principled decision-making. Welcome back, chairman Benson.”

Trent Keough, president and CEO of Portage College

Post-secondary boards play an essential role in providing leadership and representing the interests of Albertans. The Government of Alberta recruits public member vacancies through an open and transparent competition. Post-secondary boards are responsible for guiding the future of the institution and are accountable for ensuring public funds are used effectively and appropriately.


  • Self-employed lawyer in Lac La Biche.
  • Experience with Federal Court of Appeal, Tax Court of Canada, Federal Court Trial Division, the Provincial Court of Alberta and the Court of Queen’s Bench of Alberta.
  • Graduate of the University of Alberta with Bachelor of Arts (Political Science major) and Law degree.
  • 2006 recipient of the Distinguished Achievement Award from the Alberta Association of Colleges and Technical Institutes.