John Walters Vaults To The Lead On Night 3 in Bonnyville

It was another fabulous night weather wise for night 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. Capacity crowds have been the norm all week long, and when times were tabulated, John Walters recorded the fast time of the race meet so far after a penalty free run of 1:13.99.

From barrel number 4 in the seventh heat, Walters, driving the McMeekin Resources Ltd. Outfit, was the fast man on the night by a huge 1.1 seconds over former Bonnyville champion Chad Harden. Night 2 winner Codey McCurrach was third, Chad Fike placed fourth with Roger Moore filling out the top five on the night.

The day money run has now put John Walters in first place in the overall aggregate standings, with a three run total of 3:46.46. Walter’s McMeekin Resources Ltd. Outfit is now 26 one-hundredths of a second in front of Luke Tournier. Even with 2 seconds in outrider penalties on opening night, replacement driver Jess Willard has Cliff Cunningham’s outfit in third place overall, with Roger Moore and Kurt Bensmiller completing the top five overall after three days of running. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2016 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and will receive the George Normand Memorial Buckle.

The finals of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship are Sunday, July 24th. Gates at 1:00 pm, with a special tribute to the Rainbow Wagon & Croteau family at 1:30 pm. Races at 2:00 pm.

*Press Release from WPCA Billy Melville