“The Hound” Codey McCurrach – Day Money Winner On Night 2 In Bonnyville

It was a fabulous night weather wise for night 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. Once again a capacity crowd was on hand, and some tremendous chuckwagon races were seen by the Bonnyville chuckwagon fans. When it was all said and done, “the Hound” Codey McCurrach posted the best time on the night after a penalty free run of 1:15.02.

From barrel number 1 in the seventh heat, McCurrach, driving the Ziegler’s Oilfield Consulting Ltd. Outfit, was the fast man on the night by 11 one-hundredths of a second over John Walters. Doug Irvine, Jess Willard and Luke Tournier rounded out the top five on the night. One second separated the top ten wagons on the night.

After two runs, defending Bonyville Champion Luke Tournier and his SITE Energy Services Ltd. Outfit lead the overall aggregate standings with a tw0-run total of 2:30.64. That puts him 67 one-hundredths of a second ahead of local hero Doug Irvine, with Cody Ridsdale, Vern Nolin and Jess Willard driving Cliff Cunningham’s rig in close pursuit of the overall leader. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2016 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and will receive the George Normand Memorial Buckle.

Day 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship tonight, July 23rd at 6:30 pm. Gates open 5:30 pm

*Press Release from the WPCA Billy Melville