Audrey McFarlane to be given Alberta Order of Excellence

A Cold Laker is one of eight Albertans receiving the province’s highest honour. 

The provincial government made an announcement on Thursday morning about the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2023 recipients. 

Audrey McFarlane, has been the executive director of the Lakeland Centre for FASD in the past, and will be given the highest honour a civilian can receive. 

This year’s class includes Prime Minister Stephen Harper and financial advisor and television personality Angus Watt. 

McFarlane also spends time on Special Olympics Lakeland board and the Cold Lake Women of Influence committee. 

With these additions, there are now a total of 212 Albertans who have received this honour. 

The Alberta Order of Excellence recognizes Albertans from all fields of endeavour and backgrounds. 

The investiture ceremony will be held in Edmonton in October.