Friday , 27 May 2022
AJ Macaulay receives the Top Defenceman award at Friday's banquet with assistant coach Derek Hemsley, right, and Danielle Larsen, athletic therapist, left. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Bonnyville Pontiacs put bow on the season with banquet

The Bonnyville Pontiacs celebrated their successes on and off the ice on Friday night with their annual awards banquet.

The evening included dinner, a season recap by Head Coach and General Manager Rick Swan, a recognition of last year’s award winner since there was no opportunity for a banquet then, and the handing out of the 2021-22 team awards.

The graduating players of Kash Rasmussen, Will Hilfiker, Nick Traggio, Austin Saint, Michael Fairfax, Alex Danis, AJ Macaulay, and Alex Power were presented with canvasses to remember their time as Pontiacs by, while given a send off by Coach Swan. Captain Kash Rasmussen then responded with a message to the players who will be returning next season.

There was a 50/50, a silent auction for desserts, and also an autographed team picture plus a 30th anniversary jersey live auctioned at the event as well.

Despite exiting in the first round of the post-season, the Pontiacs highlighted the bundles of good news that occurred since players arrived for training camp in late August.

Here are the 2021-22 Bonnyville Pontiacs team award winners:

Most Gentlemanly Player: Matteo Giampa

Most Improved Player: JR Ashmead

JR Ashmead. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Top Rookie: Charlie Russell

Charlie Russell. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Matt Cook Unsung Hero Award: Austin Saint

Austin Saint. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Top Defensive Forward: Trey Funk

Trey Funk. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Top Defenceman: AJ Macaulay

AJ Macaulay. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

President’s Award: Will Hilfiker

Will Hilfiker. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Neil Crawley Memorial +/-: Sebastian Tamburro

Sebastian Tamburro. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Top Scorer: Sebastian Tamburro

Sebastian Tamburro. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Regular Season MVP: Kash Rasmussen

Kash Rasmussen. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Playoff MVP: AJ Macaulay

AJ Macaulay. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

3 Star Award: Matt Hennessey

Matt Hennessey. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Ma Hebert Award: Nick Ozero

Nick Ozero. Image: Bonnyville Pontiacs.

Press release: Bonnyville Pontiacs. 

About Michael Menzies

Menzies is the editor-at-large for Connected Media Inc. Born and raised in Vermilion, he started in May 2018 during his NAIT Radio and Television practicum and reports on local politics, sports, and community issues. He became the Bonnyville Pontiacs play-by-play voice during the 2019-20 season. He also comments on provincial and national issues. Menzies hosts Connected! Evening Monday-Thursday at 5 o’clock. He also likes to buy books and read some of them.