Friday , 21 January 2022

Here are your candidates for the 2021 School Board Election

It’s school board election time in the Lakeland Region. Lakeland Connect has you covered, here are your candidates.

St. Paul Education Regional Division No. 1

The following individuals have filed nomination papers to run as trustee for the St. Paul Education Regional Division No. 1: * denotes the incumbent.

Ward A

  • Connie Henderson
  • Lorne Young*
  • Darcy Younghans

Ward B

  • Jan Rajoo – declared elected

Ward C

  • Lorette Andersen
  • Connie Landsiedel
  • Sylvie Smyl
  • Dwight Wiebe*

Ward D

  • Heather Starosielski*
  • Suzanne Stybel

Glen Avon Ward vacant – no nomination received (Two trustees are elected in Ward C.) Incumbent trustees Justin Anderson, Christopher Cook and Ruven Rajoo are not running for re-election.

As no nomination was received in the Glen Avon ward, nominations for this ward shall remain open each day from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon until a candidate or 2 candidates has been nominated. Should a candidate or candidates for the Glen Avon ward come forward, nominations shall close as of 12:00 noon on that day. A candidate handbook and electoral map are available at: www.stpauleducation.ab.ca

Candidates Running for 2021 Buffalo Trail Public School Division Election 

Ward 4 (formerly County of Vermilion River);

Electoral Subdivision #2 (Rural Vermilion)

  • Jim King
  • Katherine Nelson

Electoral Subdivision #3 (Kitscoty/PV and area)

  • Kayti Eldridge
  • Jessica Kaastrup

Electoral Subdivision #4 (Dewberry/Marwayne and area)

  • David Bensmiller
  • Cameron Stevenson

Candidates Running for 2021 East Central Alberta Catholic Separate School Division 

Ward 5

Trustee (The Vermilion Ward) – 2 Vacancies

  • Derek Collins
  • Jeremy Laurence
  • Jim Sanson – incumbent

The advanced poll will take place on Wednesday, October 13, 2021 3:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. at the Kitscoty Legion Hall  and again on  Saturday, October 16, 2021 from  10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. at the same location. Election Day is Monday, October 18, 2021 from 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. at the appropriate polling stations, which will be determined closer to Election Day.

Candidates Running for 2021 Northern Lights Public Schools

  • In Ward 1 – Bonnyville, six candidates submitted nomination forms for the three trustee positions that are available. Those candidates are: Chad Colbourne, Cheryl Edwards, Lorne Kaban, Garry Kissel, Roy Ripkens, and Michael Topylki.
  • In Ward 4 – Lac La Biche – Plamondon, there are three candidates for one open position. Those candidates are Stephanida Gostevskyh, Sandra Makokis and Blair Norton.
  • In both Ward 1 and Ward 4 the nominations are unofficial until a 24-hour period has passed. During that time, candidates may withdraw their names from contention if they wish to do so. Once that 24 hour period has expired, the nominations will be considered official and if arrangements will be made for the election on October 18 if necessary.
  • In Ward 2 – Cold Lake, there were three nominations submitted for the three positions that were available. As a result, Karen Packard, Mandi Skogen and Ron Young have been acclaimed to those positions and will serve as trustees for the 2021-2025 term.
  • In Ward 5 – Lac La Biche South, one nomination was received for the one open position. As a result, Debra Lozinski was acclaimed and will serve as a trustee for the 2021-2025 term.

Candidates Running for 2021 Lakeland Catholic School Division

The Lakeland Catholic School Board of Trustees has been elected by acclamation with all wards receiving at least one nomination. 

Trustees elected for the 2021-2025 term are:

  • Ward 1 – Diane Bauer *
  • Ward 1 – Vincent MacDonald *
  • Ward 1 – Denise Sirois Tercier
  • Ward 2 – Vicky Lefebvre *
  • Ward 2 – Mary Anne Penner *
  • Ward 2 – Anna Michelle Brockhoff
  • Ward 3 – Donna Cloutier

About Arthur C. Green

Arthur C. Green is an award winning journalist and is from Whitbourne Newfoundland. Green graduated from the CNA Journalism Program. Arthur also studied Business Marketing and Political Science at Memorial University in Essex England and St. John's Newfoundland. Green has worked for such organizations as CBC, CBC Radio, NTV, Saltwire, Great West Media, CKLB Radio, River Radio, Vista Radio, and Postmedia. He also loves Jiggs Dinner and can fillet a Codfish.