John Walters – First Place In All Categories On Night 2 In Bonnyville

Photo by Carol Easton

It was a fabulous night weather wise for night 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. Once again a capacity crowd was on hand, and some tremendous chuckwagon races were seen by the Bonnyville chuckwagon fans. When it was all said and done, John Walters posted the best time on the night after a penalty free run of 1:22.05.

From barrel position number 3 in the seventh heat, Walters, driving the Warco Industrial Cooling Services Ltd. outfit, had the top time on the night, 17 one-hundredths of a second faster than Evan Salmond who ran second on the night also from heat number seven. Vern Nolin placed third, Layne MacGillivray was fourth, and Cliff Cunningham rounded out the top five on the night.

The day money run has also put John Walters in the lead in the overall aggregate standings with a two-run total of 2:41.81. That puts him 1.27 seconds ahead of Evan Salmond, with Vern Nolin, Kirk Sutherland and Kelly Sutherland making out the top five overall after two runs. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2017 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and will receive the George Normand Memorial Buckle.

Day 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Saturday, July 29, 2017 starting at 8:30pm ET, 7:30pmCT, 6:30pmMT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville. with Sunday’s races at 4:00pm ET, 3:00pm CT and 2:00pm MT.

Billy Melville