Cody Ridsdale take Night 1 in Bonnyville

Cody Ridsdale – First Place On First Night In Bonnyville
Photo By Paul Easton

After a three-week break and a successful run at the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed in Bonnyville with the 10th Anniversary of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. Luke Tournier came into this year’s event as the two-time defending champion. It was a very pleasant evening for a near capacity crowd, and when night one wrapped up it was Cody Ridsdale who had the best time on the night after a penalty free run of 1:18.84.

Ridsdale, driving the Dreamcather Log Homes Outfit, was the only driver to break the 1:19.00 mark and had the top time on the night, 37 one-hundredths of a second faster than Kurt Bensmiller’s wagon #2 who had to settle for second place on the night. Logan Gorst placed third, Chanse Vigen was fourth, and John Walters rounded out the top five on the night.

The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2017 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and will receive the George Normand Memorial Buckle.

Day 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Friday, July 28, 2017 starting at 8:30pm ET, 7:30pmCT, 6:30pmMT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville. with Sunday’s races at 4:00pm ET, 3:00pm CT and 2:00pm MT.

 

-Billy Melville