CLHS Athletic Awards Celebrate Student Success

Tuesday, June 13 was a dark, and gloomy evening in Cold Lake. Rain was falling steadily throughout much of the day. It was a different story inside the Cold Lake High School Theatre. Parents, teachers and student athletes gathered to celebrate another year of Royals athletics. The mood was bright and cheery, and laughs were inevitable. Before the awards ceremony, athletes and parents enjoyed a meal in the school’s cafeteria.

“Athletics at our school for some kids is the most important part of being at school. Some of them stay in school because of athletics. Most make their best memories in school sports. A great school has three things, a great arts program, a strong athletic program, and a great academic program.” CLHS Principal Dustin Walker said during his speech at the awards.

Athletic Awards by Sport


MVP: Teagan Densmore


Bantam MVP: Diego Hatch

High School MVP: Daniel Delorme-Crevier

Cross Country:

Male MVP: Braden Dewhurst

Female MVP: Maria Thiel

JV Girls Volleyball

Most improved: Kendra Finkbinder

MVP: Jasper Beckwith

JV Boys Volleyball

Leadership Award: Colby Downer

Coaches Choice: Isaac Brown

Senior Girls Volleyball

Most Outstanding Player: Jordyn Buchinski

Most Valuable Player: Julia Macdonald

Senior Boys Volleyball

MVP: Kendel Schumacher

Royals Heart and Hustle: Teagan Densmore

JV Girls Basketball:

Royals Pride: Megan Rowe

MVP: Marissa Lines

JV Boys Basketball

MVP: Hassan Khan

Royals Pride: Cameron Moar

Senior Girls Basketball:

Coaches Award: Rachel Morawietz

Most Improved: Carmen Hamel

Senior Boys Basketball:

Rookie of the Year: Adriel Beckford

MVP: Daniel Delorme- Crevier


Dedication award: Tylyn Tanguay

MVP: Megan Rowe

Junior Badminton:

MVP: Oumran Elkadri

MVP: Mason Scanie-Horseman

Senior Badminton

MVP: Rachel Morawietz

MVP: Natasha Bauman


Female MVP: Ellie Wheeler

Male MVP: Paul Cleofas

Track and Field:

Heart and hustle- Ben Wheeler

Junior MVP- Sydney Horyn

Senior MVP- JP Mulumba


Senior Boys Coaches Award – QUINTON SKELDING

Junior Boys Rookie of the Year – COLE PRIESTLEY


Senior Girls Coaches Award –  SABRINA FENG


Big Hardware

The hardware didn’t end at recognizing individual sports. The biggest awards were up for grabs at the end of night. These awards included female and male athlete of the year.

Junior Male Athlete of the Year:

Frank Mulumba

Junior Female Athlete of the Year:

Ellie Wheeler

Senior Female Athlete of the Year:

Rachel Morawietz

Senior Male Athlete of the Year:

Anthony Francis

Sportsmanship Award:

Devon Reekie

Long speeches make for good laughs

Rebels girls rugby coach Jared Nichol, who is also the Multimedia Teacher at CLHS, took time during the evening to record the longest speeches by discipline. Some speeches featured great banter between coaches. The night was planned by Athletic Director Kelly Eagles.

Photo Credit: Jared Nichol