Senior Pontiacs Celebrate Year-End Awards

The Senior Pontiacs season came to an official close on Saturday night. The hockey team hosted their awards night on Saturday to wrap up an incredible run.

Below is a list of award winners:

* All quotes in the list are from Brad Paice

  • Top Scorer – Dakota Mason
    “He had a great season, unfortunately he was injured in the playoffs. He put up ridiculous numbers in the regular season.”
  • NCHL Top Scorer – Dakota Mason
  • Top Playoff Performer – Devon Kalinski
    “He’s one of them guys, it doesn’t matter if we’re winning by 10 or losing by 10. He brings the same mentality.”
  • Best Defenseman – Beau Ferbey
    “Beau is just steady Beau. Steady, stay at home guy. Same guy I’ve watched throughout his career.”
  • Top Rookie – Tie – Dakota Mason / Tanner Schalin
  • Award of Merit – Tie – Denis Cardin / Michael Desjarlais
    “These two fly under the radar. Both are top guys, who don’t get over looked.”
  • Most Gentlemanly – Joel Miller
    “He’s the guy who keeps us going on the bench.”
  • MVP – Devon Kalinski
  • President’s Award – Tanner Schalin
    “[Tanner] is a stud for us. He didn’t miss a practice, driving from the city for 9:45 practice and back to Edmonton that same night for work the next morning.”

Ma Hebert Award

The Ma Hebert Award was presented to Steve Wojcik.  The Ma Hebert Award was first presented in 1987-1988. The award is presented “For promotion of, and dedication to local hockey”. Steve is a long time executive with the Jr. Pontiacs and a director with the Sr. Pontiacs. He has also worked as an off-ice official for several years at the Sr. and Jr. level.

“It comes as a surprise. You do it for the love of the game, and the camaraderie.” Wojcik says, “You don’t do this for the accolades.”

The Senior Pontiacs finished two points back of first place in the North Central Hockey League. They finished third in the league, and went all the way to the finals. Bonnyville faced the Daysland Stars in the championship. Daysland swept the Sr. Pontiacs 3-0.