Lightning Strikes Twice for Luke Tournier

Capacity crowds, perfect weather conditions and exciting chuckwagon racing were the recipe for the 2016 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. The championship wrapped up on Sunday afternoon, and when times were tabulated, it was Luke Tournier who successfully defended his Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship.

Trailing John Walters at the start of the final day, Tournier needed a big run from an outside barrel position if he had any hopes of defending the title he won for the first time in 2015. He got the run he needed so Luke Tournier, driving the SITE Energy Services outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Quaid Tournier, captured the 2016 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and the George Normand Memorial Buckle with a four day total time of 5:02.05. Second place went to John Walters, 64 one-hundredths of a second behind the champion Tournier, with replacement driver Jess Willard taking Cliff Cunningham’s outfit in third place overall, Roger Moore and Kelly Sutherland rounded out the top five overall.

On the day, Logan Gorst, driving the Flashpoint Electric outfit, posted the fast time of the afternoon with a run of 1:15.15 from  barrel 4 in the 7th heat. Luke Tournier was second, Jess Willard was third, followed by Mitch Sutherland and Rick Fraser rounding out the top five on the afternoon.

The WPCA Pro Tour now moves to Strathmore for the Strathmore Stampede starting Friday, July 29, 2016. Live action can be heard starting on Friday at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147.


*Press Release from Billy Melville WPCA