Sunday , 3 July 2022

Macaulay, Saint, and Rasmussen nominated for AJHL awards

The Bonnyville Pontiacs are thrilled to announce that three players have been nominated for Alberta Junior Hockey League awards.

The AJHL announced the finalists for each league award on Monday morning. 

The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year. 

Here are the Pontiacs in the running: 

    • Kash Rasmussen – Most Valuable Player (Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy)
    • AJ Macaulay – Outstanding Defenceman (W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by Alberta Ford Dealers) 
    • Austin Saint – Most Dedicated Player (Don McNabb Memorial Trophy) 

The coaches and general managers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League selected a pair of finalists from each division through two phases of voting. The award winners will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced at the completion of the AJHL regular season. 

The Pontiacs are excited that Kash, AJ and Austin are being recognized for having tremendous seasons, as they have helped the team have success as well. 

The Bonnyville Pontiacs wish them good luck in the final round of voting. 

About Michael Menzies

Menzies is the editor-at-large for Connected Media Inc. Born and raised in Vermilion, he started in May 2018 during his NAIT Radio and Television practicum and reports on local politics, sports, and community issues. He became the Bonnyville Pontiacs play-by-play voice during the 2019-20 season. He also comments on provincial and national issues. Menzies hosts Connected! Evening Monday-Thursday at 5 o’clock. He also likes to buy books and read some of them.